I shouldn’t be in love with a company to work there.

I read this article last week in the Telegraph about companies like McD’s that has a cultish workplace, where all the staff loves to display how happy they are to work at said place and it’s the same for many companies, big and small! And this additude that staff should automatically enjoy working at their workplaces and would do everything they’re asked for, including more of their time, before they’re even hired, is coming… or is already here, in the UK.

 

Now, as someone who is unemployed most of the time, when applying for work the dreaded questions is usually present. Question, specifically, like “why do you want to work for us?”

Well, now. Maybe it’s because I need to work and earn money to buy things and pay the rent and other bills. It’s not like I would specifically target a company just because I actually “like” them or anything…. right?

Well, I would assume it’s the same for other people. For companise to go on the assumption all the time that people would want to work for them because of the companies past successes is very misleading. Some people do though, but usually most people would work elsewhere to build experience and qualifications before getting their dream job at the big leagues (if you will).

Take, for example, wrestlers. A lot of them wretle for years across the world before landing in the WWE. They don’t expect to get a job at the WWE like their mother handing them food on a plate when they were babies.

But, I’m not a career type of person and would prefer to just simply apply for a job filling up drinks at a bar or cleaning up plates as a kitchen porter or talking to people in a call center. Get something simple like those and pay my way. Saving up for nice things like new computer hardware for my custom PC that I’m using right now to type this up right here on my barely used blog gimmick.

(And spend my money on other things, not forgetting to paying rent too).

 

So, next time I come across questions like “Why do you want to work for us?”, I’ll just simply say, “Coz I need money to pay for this gimmick called rent and bills and food and etc.”

 

I guess I’m really just expressing my annoyences in applying for work and just want to get through the basics and questions should be saved for interviews.

Leave a Reply

